Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

08-04-2004 - 10:39 a.m.

Hey, I'm back. Hope you didn't miss me. I figured maybe I could give you a little more insight into me. Alot of things have happened to me over the past decade or so. Some quite good, some very bad. Of course the main "good" times were November 17, 1990, June 29, 1992, and June 18, 1999. These are the days I became a Dad. An experience that to this day I cannot put words to the feelings that totally envelop you, the first time you go to the nursery of the hospital and say, "I'm here to get my son/daughter." It is then you know the true meaning of the word "overwhelmed". Thoughts run through your head like small bolts of chaotic lightning. Things like, "I'm really a Dad?" and "Am I ready for this kind of responsibility? Am I man enough to love, nurture, and provide for this new life?" It is a flood of both questions like these and uncontrolable emotions that ebb and flow in both your head and your heart. Wait a minute, I've seemed to have put words to it. Yeah, but that still won't give you an inkling into the actual feelings. Something I wouldn't trade for anthing on Earth.

Before that was June 23, 1990. This would be the day that "I" became "We". This was the day I married the most important person in my life. The person who would be there for me through life altering times, again, both good and bad no matter what. The person that I would learn and grow with. The person that I too would be there for through any trial or tribulation. That person is my wife, Nicole. We have put up with each other's short-comings for over fourteen years now. That's alot longer than anyone had ever expected. Especially my "family". There are many reasons why that word is in quotation marks or "bunny ears", if you know what I mean. I'm sure I'll get to telling you all about most of those reasons. But anyway, back to my original point, certain members of my "family" were basically laying odds on how long we would stay together. No, I'm not kidding, unfortunately. If my memory serves me correctly I don't think any of them went higher than two to two and a half years. Well they can all take each of our fourteen years and cram 'em where the sun don't shine. Sorry, I'm a bit bitter. Do I have a right to be? You be the judge.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!